Our staff

Head of School

Staff member Position Contact
Trevor Burnard Professor of History and Head of School Email: tburnard@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 4280

Classics and Archaeology

Staff member Position Contact
Dr K.O. Chong-Gossard Lecturer in Classics; Classics and Archaeology Discipline Chair; Honours and undergraduate coordinator Email: koc@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 4078
Associate Professor Louise Hitchcock Associate Professor in Archaeology Email: l.hitchcock@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 7033
Dr Andrew Jamieson Senior Lecturer in Archaeology Email: asj@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 3403
Dr Hyun Jin Kim Lecturer in Classics Email: kim.h@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 7461
Associate Professor Parshia Lee-Stecum Senior lecturer; Associate Dean, Teaching and Learning Email: ppls@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5386
Professor Antonio Sagona Professor, Classics and Archaeology Email: a.sagona@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 4161
Associate Professor Gocha Tsetskhladze Reader in Classical Archaeology Email: g.tsetskhladze@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 4319
Dr Frederik Vervaet Senior lecturer in Ancient history Email: fvervaet@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 7496
Professor Michael Osborne Professor Emeritus (Honorary) Email: no-replyk@unimelb.edu.au
Professor Ronald Ridley Professor Emeritus (Honorary) Email: r.ridley@unimelb.edu.au
Professor Frank Sear Professor Emeritus (Honorary) Email: fsear@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 6886
Professor David Runia Professorial Fellow (Honorary) Email: drunia@unimelb.edu.au
Associate Professor Christopher Mackie Principal Fellow (Honorary) Email: no-reply@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 7559
Associate Professor John Martyn Principal Fellow (Honorary) Email: jrcm@unimelb.edu.au
Associate Professor Roger Scott Principal Fellow (Honorary) Email: r.scott@unimelb.edu.au
Mr John Burke Senior Fellow (Honorary) Email: j.burke@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5680
Dr Terence Falla Senior Fellow (Honorary) Email: terence.falla@unimelb.edu.au
Mr Darryl Palmer Senior Fellow (Honorary) Email: d.palmer@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Claudia Sagona Senior Fellow (Honorary) Email: c.sagona@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Nicholas Vlahogiannis Senior Fellow (Honorary) Email: n.vlahogiannis@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Penelope Buckely Fellow (Honorary) Email: pbuckley@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Dora Constantinidis Fellow (Honorary) Email: dorac@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Christopher Dart Fellow (Honorary) Email: cdart@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 7496
Dr Christopher Davey Fellow (Honorary) Email: c.davey@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Brent Davis Fellow (Honorary) Email: bedavis@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 7033
Dr Trudie Fraser Fellow (Honorary) Email: t.fraser@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Christopher Gribbin Fellow (Honorary) Email: cgribbin@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Heather Jackson Fellow (Honorary) Email: heatherj@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 0220
Dr Tamara Lewit Fellow (Honorary) Email: tlewit@unimelb.edu.au
Rev Dr Andrew McGowan Fellow (Honorary) Email: mcgowana@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9348 7106
Dr Stavroula Nikoloudis Fellow (Honorary) Email: s.nikoloudis@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Andrew Turner Fellow (Honorary) Email: ajturner@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Youhanna Youssef Fellow (Honorary) Email: youhanna.youssef@unimelb.edu.au

Conservation

Staff member Position Contact
Associate Professor Robyn Sloggett Director, Centre for Cultural Materials Conservation Email: rjslog@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 6455
Dr Petronella Nel Lecturer Email: pnel@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 0354
Dr Suzanne Spunner Miegunyah Postdoctoral Fellow Email: spunners@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Nicole Tse ARC Postdoctoral Fellow; Graduate coordinator Email: nicoleat@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 0354
Ms Holly Jones-Amin Objects Conservator Email: hollyj@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 6049
Ms Cushla Hill Senior Paintings Conservator Email: cushla@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 0354
Ms Vanessa Kowalski Paintings Conservator Email: v.kowalski@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9348 5700
Ms Libby Melzer Paper Conservator Email: eamelzer@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9348 5746
Ms Catherine Nunn Senior Painting Conservator Email: cnunn@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9348 5700
Ms Briony Pemberton Paper Conservator Email: brionyp@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9348 5746
Professor Ann Roberts Principal Fellow (Honorary) Email: ann.roberts@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5038
Mr Andrew Brook Fellow (Honorary) Email: b.andrew@unimelb.edu.au

Hebrew and Jewish Studies

Staff member Position Contact
Dr Dvir Abramovich Director of The Program in Jewish Culture and Society; The Israel Kipen Senior Lecturer in Hebrew Studies Email: dvir@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 3789
Associate Professor Ziva Shavitsky Principal Fellow (Honorary) Email: ziva@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 7562

History

Staff member Position Contact
Professor Kate Darian-Smith Professor of Australian Studies and History; History Discipline Chair Email: k.darian-smith@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 7232
Professor Joy Damousi Professor of History Email: j.damousi@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 8999
Dr Julie Fedor Lecturer Email: jfedor@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 9563
Professor Antonia Finnane Professor of History Email: a.finnane@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 9863
Professor David Goodman Professor of History; Research and Research Training Coordinator Email: d.goodman@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 7859
Dr Barbara Keys Senior lecturer; Honours and Postgraduate Diploma coordinator Email: bkeys@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5100
Dr Catherine Kovesi Senior lecturer Email: c.kovesi@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 8160
Associate Professor Andrew J. May Associate Professor of History Email: a.may@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 7562
Associate Professor Richard Pennell al-Tajir Lecturer in Middle East and Islamic History Email: rpennell@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5952
Associate Professor Sean Scalmer Associate Professor; Undergraduate coordinator Email: sscalmer@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5957
Dr Steven Welch Senior lecturer Email: s.welch@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5969
Dr Heather Dalton ARC Early Career Research Fellow Email: hdalton@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Jackie Dickenson Senior Research Associate; Fellow (Honorary) Email: jackied@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 7586
Dr Samia Khatun McKenzie Postdoctoral Fellow Email: samia.khatun@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Ai Kobayashi ARC Early Career Research Fellow Email: aik@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 8879
Professor Marilyn Lake ARC Professorial Fellow and Professor in History Email: marilyn.lake@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 3924
Dr Helen MacDonald ARC Future Fellow Email: h.macdonald@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9344 8088
Dr Katharine (Kate) McGregor ARC Future Fellow Email: k.mcgregor@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 3379
Dr Gordon Raeburn Postdoctoral Fellow, ARC Centre for Excellence for the History of Emotions Email: gordon.raeburn@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 7453
Dr Sarah Randles Postdoctoral Fellow, ARC Centre for Excellence for the History of Emotions Email: sarah.randles@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 834 40367
Dr Giovanni Tarantino Postdoctoral Fellow, ARC Centre of Excellence for the History of Emotions Email: giovanni.tarantino@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5152
Professor Geoffrey Blainey Professor Emeritus (Honorary) Email: no-a-reply@unimelb.edu.au
Professor Charles Sowerwine Professor Emeritus (Honorary) Email: c.sowerwine@unimelb.edu.au
Professor Patricia Grimshaw Professorial Fellow (Honorary) Email: p.grimshaw@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 4461
Professor Dale Kent Professorial Fellow (Honorary) Email: kentd@unimelb.edu.au
Professor Stuart Macintyre Professorial Fellow (Honorary) Email: s.macintyre@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5978
Professor Elizabeth Malcolm Professorial Fellow (Honorary) Email: e.malcolm@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5974
Professor John Sinclair Professorial Fellow (Honorary) Email: j.sinclair@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 3462
Professor Stephen Wheatcroft Professorial Fellow (Honorary) Email: s.wheatcroft@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5960
Professor Charles Zika Chief Investigator, ARC Centre for Excellence for the History of Emotions; Professorial Fellow (Honorary) Email: c.zika@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5954
Associate Professor Charles Coppel Principal Fellow (Honorary) Email: c.coppel@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5142
Associate Professor Susan Foley Principal Fellow (Honorary) Email: skfoley@unimelb.edu.au
Associate Professor John Lack Principal Fellow (Honorary) Email: j.lack@unimelb.edu.au
Associate Professor Stephen Morgan Principal Fellow (Honorary) Email: smorgan@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5282
Dr Judith Smart Principal Fellow (Honorary) Email: jsmart@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5963
Professor Ian Breward Senior Fellow (Honorary) Email: ibreward@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Barry Collett Senior Fellow (Honorary) Email: b.collett@unimelb.edu.au
Dr June Factor Senior Fellow (Honorary) Email: j.factor@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Ross McMullin Senior Fellow (Honorary) Email: no-d-reply@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Damian Powell Senior Fellow (Honorary) Email: no-c-reply@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Mammad Aidani Fellow (Honorary) Email: maidani@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Adel Beshara Fellow (Honorary) Email: aibesh@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Kelly Butler Fellow (Honorary) Email: butlerkj@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5620
Dr Michael Cathcart Fellow (Honorary) Email: cathcart@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Cecily Close Fellow (Honorary) Email: cclose@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Helen Davies Fellow (Honorary) Email: daviesh@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Juliet Flesch Fellow (Honorary) Email: julietef@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5906
Dr Rosemary Francis Fellow (Honorary) Email: rfran@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Julianna Grigg Fellow (Honorary) Email: griggj@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Colin Holden Fellow (Honorary) Email: colin.holden@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Jennifer Kloester Fellow (Honorary) Email: jkloe@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Daniel Leach Fellow (Honorary) Email: dhleach@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Val Noone Fellow (Honorary) Email: valnoone@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5961
Ms Sheridan Palmer Fellow (Honorary) Email: palmers@unimelb.edu.au
Professor John Poynter Fellow (Honorary) Email: j.poynter@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Carolyn Rasmussen Fellow (Honorary) Email: c.rasmussen1@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 3903 53092
Dr Dianne Reilly Fellow (Honorary) Email: dreilly@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Kathryn Smithies Fellow (Honorary) Email: smkl@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Filip Slaveski Fellow (Honorary) Email: slaveski@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Anthony Ward Fellow (Honorary) Email: ajward@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Graham Willett Fellow (Honorary) Email: gwillett@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Peter Yule Fellow (Honorary) Email: plyule@unimelb.edu.au
Professor Peter McPhee Fellow (Honorary, Melbourne Graduate School of Education) Email: p.mcphee@unimelb.edu.au

History and Philosophy of Science

Staff member Position Contact
Dr Michael Arnold Lecturer in Social studies of technology; HPS Discipline Chair Email: mvarnold@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 7020
Dr James Bradley Lecturer; Undergraduate coordinator Email: jbradley@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 3851
Dr Kristian Camilleri History and Philosophy of Science - Intellectual history; Honours and postgraduate diploma coordinator Email: kcam@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 7573
Dr Gerhard Wiesenfeldt History and Philosophy of Science - History of science Email: gerhardw@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 7983
Dr Sara Wills Lecturer in Migration history; Associate Dean (Advancement) Email: s.wills@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 9975
Professor Roderick Home Professor Emeritus (Honorary) Email: home@unimelb.edu.au
Professor Brian Ellis Professorial Fellow (Honorary) Email: b.ellis@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9439 9181
Professor Ian Rae Professorial Fellow (Honorary) Email: idrae@unimelb.edu.au
Associate Professor Don Garden Principal Fellow (Honorary) Email: d.garden@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 6823
Professor Henry Krips Principal Fellow (Honorary) Email: hkrips@unimelb.edu.au
Associate Professor Helen Verran Principal Fellow (Honorary) Email: hrv@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 0229
Dr Keith Hutchison Senior Fellow (Honorary) Email: k.hutchison@unimelb.edu.au
Associate Professor Kim Sawyer Senior Fellow (Honorary) Email: kim.sawyer@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 8061
Dr Neil Thomason Senior Fellow (Honorary) Email: neilt@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5153
Rev Dr Stephen Ames Fellow (Honorary) Email: sames@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Adam Bonstanci Fellow (Honorary) Email: abostanci@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 0266
Dr Roderick Buchanan Fellow (Honorary) Email: no-replyd@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5156
Dr Rey Tiquia Fellow (Honorary) Email: rtiquia@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9499 1362
Dr Glenn Trembath Fellow (Honorary) Email: glennt@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 3467
Dr John Wilkins Fellow (Honorary) Email: john.wilkins@unimelb.edu.au

Philosophy

Staff member Position Contact
Professor Greg Restall Boyce Gibson Professor of Philosophy; Lecturer in Philosophical logic; Philosophy Discipline Chair Email: restall@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 0282
Associate Professor Christopher Cordner Lecturer in Moral philosophy; Philosophy graduate (coursework and research) coordinator Email: ccordner@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 7564
Dr Dana Goswick Lecturer in Ontology and essence Email: dgoswick@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 8881
Dr Daniel Halliday Lecturer in Political philosophy Email: daniel.halliday@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5877
Dr Andrew Inkpin Lecturer in Phenomenology Email: ainkpin@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 6539
Dr Karen Jones Lecturer in Ethics and moral psychology; Honours and postgraduate diploma coordinator Email: jonek@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 0268
Associate Professor Howard Sankey Lecturer in epistemology, metaphysics and philosophy of science; Philosophy undergraduate coordinator Email: chs@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 6558
Dr Fran├žois Schroeter Lecturer in Metaethics and moral psychology Email: fschro@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 8169
Dr Laura Schroeter Lecturer Email: laura.schroeter@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 7120
Dr Francesca Minerva McKenzie Fellow, Centre for Applied Philosophy and Public Ethics (CAPPE) Email: fminerva@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 9951
Mr Andrew Alexandra Centre for Applied Philosophy and Public Ethics (CAPPE) Email: a.alexandra@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 3863
Professor Doris Schroeder Centre for Applied Philosophy and Public Ethics (CAPPE) Email: doriss@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 3424
Professor Peter Singer Centre for Applied Philosophy and Public Ethics (CAPPE) Email: psinger@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 3423
Professor Graham Priest Professor Emeritus (Honorary) Email: g.priest@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 7118
Professor Thomas Campbell Professorial Fellow (Honorary) Email: no-replye@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 2 6125 5493
Professor Tony Coady Professorial Fellow (Honorary), Centre for Applied Philosophy and Public Ethics (CAPPE) Email: t.coady@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5155
Proessor Rufus Black Principal Fellow (Honorary) Email: no-replyf@unimelb.edu.au
Associate Professor Neil Levy Principal Fellow (Honorary) Email: nllevy@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5761
Dr Mary Mccloskey Principal Fellow (Honorary) Email: no-replyg@unimelb.edu.au
Professor Michael Smith Principal Fellow (Honorary) Email: smma@unimelb.edu.au
Associate Professor Timothy van Gelder Principal Fellow (Honorary) Email: t.gelder@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5089
Dr Maurita Harney Senior Fellow (Honorary) Email: mharney@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 0266
Dr Patrick Hutchings Senior Fellow (Honorary), Centre for Applied Philosophy and Public Ethics (CAPPE) Email: no-replyh@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Bruce Langtry Senior Fellow (Honorary) Email: brucenl@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Tamas Pataki Senior Fellow (Honorary), Centre for Applied Philosophy and Public Ethics (CAPPE) Email: tpataki@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 8113
Professor Igor Primoratz Senior Fellow (Honorary) Email: iprim@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 3854
Dr Brian Scarlett Senior Fellow (Honorary) Email: brianfs@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5142
Associate Professor Purushottama Bilimoria Fellow (Honorary) Email: p.bilimoria@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 83444778
Dr Steve Clarke Fellow (Honorary) Email: no-replyi@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 2 6125 8475
Mr Paul Daniels Fellow (Honorary) Email: pdaniels@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Yanna Rider Fellow (Honorary) Email: yrider@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9642 2593
Professor Dan Russell Fellow (Honorary) Email: no-replyj@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Zach Weber Fellow (Honorary) Email: zweber@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Damon Young Fellow (Honorary) Email: youngd@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5142

Professional

Staff member Position Contact
Josie Winther School Manager Email: jwinther@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5156
Sarah Gloger Research and Research Training Support Officer Email: sarah.gloger@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 7501
Philippa Grounds Teaching and Learning Support Officer Email: pgrounds@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 3965
June McBeth Administrative Assistant Email: jmcbeth@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5142
Erica Mehrtens Academic Programs Manager Email: e.mehrtens@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5953
Elizabeth Sayers Executive Assistant to the Head of School Email: elizabeth.sayers@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 1521